teacher bios

Karen Werme

 

Karen Werme (owner/director)

My eighth grade yearbook has a picture of me and underneath, my life goal: To Own my own Daycare.  Owning Book Worms has been a life goal for me and I’m proud of myself for obtaining that goal.  I now spend my time as the owner and director.  Caring for children was a natural talent that started when I was 10 years old.  The first children who were left in my care were three brothers all under three years of age.  They were a handful and they taught me everything I know!  I went to college and obtained a Bachelor of Science Degree in Early Childhood Education.  I moved to Philadelphia from Connecticut in 2002 and that September started working at a prestigious Center City private preschool.  I was there for ten years and the last four I spent as Director.  I should also mention that I owned a successful eBay selling business, which was featured in the Wall Street Journal.

Luckily for me, I also have my own child, Mayson, whom I get to enjoy everyday.  She is currently in fourth grade and is ten years old.  When I’m not working or hanging out with my daughter I like to eat out, run, exercise, visit family and rest.

 

Portrait.HJWHeather Jo 

I am very excited to be part of the Book Worms community! I previously worked at the University of the Arts as the Pre-College Programs Director, Delaware Art Museum as an art program manager, Beginnings Learning Center as an art teacher, and have volunteered at several local Museums, including the Philadelphia Museum of Art and the Please Touch Museum. I earned a BFA in Painting/Drawing and an MA in Museum Education from the University of the Arts. After doing some soul searching, I have decided to return to return to a day care/ pre school environment where I can do what I love most- taking young learners on a wonderful journey to discover their imagination, creativity and expression!

In my free time I enjoy traveling, gardening, painting, dancing and spending time with my awesome family.

 

IMG_2486  Meaghan

Hello! My name is Meaghan and I am so honored to be joining the Book Worms Family! I have always loved working with children since the first time I started babysitting at 13 years old and continued to work with children as an infant, preschool, and after school teacher for the last five years.

For the past nine years I have been a member of Students Run Philly Style, a running program that has helped to change the lives of students throughout the Philadelphia area, including my own. This program prides on three core values of Courage, Effort and Respect to help individuals achieve the goal of completing a half or full marathon over the course of nine months. The inspiration and determination that comes from the leaders involved was what encouraged me to obtain a BA degree in Health Science with a concentration in Community Health. It brings me a tremendous amount of joy to help children discover new beginnings and become excited when they achieve goals they never thought possible. It is my dream to one day create a program that provides individuals of all ages with healthy living options from fitness and proper nutrition to everyday stress management and leadership skills.

I look forward to working with the Book Worms family to help your children learn, grow, and discover new and exciting things each and everyday.

My name is Rio and I am thrilled to be joining Book Worms! I lived in Philadelphia when I was younger and grew up visiting family here on the weekends. When we moved my mom started her own at home day care so I’ve grown up surrounded by children of all ages. I babysat all through middle school and high school; but my first nannying job was for a family with three children ages 5, 6, and 10. I loved getting to know the children better while doing crafts, playing outside, and making up our own games. It was working for that family that landed me a job for a full time nanny position watching a 3 month old. I had the pleasure of seeing him grow into the funny, caring, intelligent 3 year old he is today.

Now we are both starting our journeys at early learning centers and I cannot wait to get to know each of the children here at Book Worms and see how they grow and learn. I love watching young children’s personalities develop and seeing them grow intellectually and creatively! When I’m not working I enjoy hiking, visiting family, and hanging out with my hedgehog.

1385956_10151790120006961_887346711_nJuliana

My name is Juliana, and I am so happy to be joining the Book Worms family! I started baby sitting at age 12 and have been involved in childcare one way or another ever since. I had the amazing opportunity to serve as a missionary to 6th-12th grade youth across the country, be a live-in nanny for four children ages: 2,4, 8 & 10, and care for children with special needs. I really love caring for kids and truly enjoy their company and engaging them so they can learn and grow! It’s always incredibly rewarding to see how they change and develop their own unique personalities. I recently relocated here to Philly from northern Virginia and am really enjoying exploring the city. In my downtime I like to watch movies, read, and hang out with friends.

Tamara Tamara

Hello!
My name is Tamara,
Throughout my academic career and after graduating from West Chester University with a Bachelor’s degree, I have been providing childcare to multiple families. I have worked with newborns all the way to tweens, with an array of abilities, from full functioning to children with differences, with an extensive focus on Autism Spectrum disorders. With my focus mainly on ASD, I have taken up American Sign Language, and am certified in Elementary ASL. I look forward to working with each child here at Book worms to develop their cognitive functioning and create a thriving learning environment.
I am eager to meet with you all and look forward to working with everyone here at the Book Worms Community.

 

 

IMG_0043 Emily

Hello! My name is Emily and I am so excited to be a part of the Book Worms family! I have always loved taking care of children and started babysitting at age 12. I grew up in Philadelphia and moved to Colorado in 2011 to attend Fort Lewis College where I graduated with a Bachelors Degree in Sociology. During my time in school, I worked as an Assistant Teacher at a preschool for children ages 1-3 while also working as a part-time nanny for three amazing children ages 2, 6 & 10. Both experiences brought me huge amounts of joy and fulfillment as well as solidified in my mind that working with children is my true passion. I am grateful to have the chance to learn and grow with the kids here!

When I’m not working I love being outside, hiking, skiing, dancing, and spending time with my family and pets.

FDB79A64-F066-48F6-9439-E6C10B93DB50 Siobhan

My name is Siobhan, and I am super excited to be a part of the Book Worms community! I moved from Orlando, FL in August of 2014 to go to university here in Philadelphia. I am currently attending Temple University to obtain my Bachelor’s degree in Biology. I previously worked as a babysitter for many of the children within my neighborhood and I also worked as a Spanish tutor for my local high school. It was during my years of high school that I discovered my love for working with children. I volunteered for a program called Bambino Buddy Ball that coordinates baseball leagues for children from ages 5 to 20 with mental and physical challenges. Seeing the excitement on the children’s faces as I helped them hit the ball really inspired me to continue to work with children. Looking back on it, helping those children will forever put a smile on my face and will be one of my top proudest moments.

I am anticipating watching the children grow and seeing how each of their personalities will allow them to be successful at whatever they choose to do in the future. In my spare time, I enjoy yoga, spending time with my family, drawing, baking and playing Ultimate Frisbee with my friends. 

20150912_110814-1-1 Emily

My name is Emily Perkins. I have spent the entirety of my life, up until three years ago, in northwestern Pennsylvania in the village of Tiona.  I moved to Philadelphia to attend Temple University and obtain my Bachelor’s degree in Psychology.  Being the youngest child with three older brothers, I have always longed for a baby sibling.  Although that dream never came true, my large extended family provided me with several little cousins to entertain my desire to work with small children.  My mother began working at Head Start when I was in kindergarten and I took on the role as classroom pen-pal throughout elementary school, frequenting the classroom on several occasions.  I became more active in the classroom during my middle and high school years and assisted my mother in babysitting extended family at our home.  During my career at Temple University, I have volunteered at several non-profit organizations such as Beckett Life Center and Inter-faith Social Change Movement.  My family was blessed with my nephew, Eliam, in May of 2014 and my niece, Chloe, in June of 2014.  I spend every possible moment with my niece and nephew, as they provide me endless joy and entertainment. Over the summer I watched my niece every other week providing all-day care.  I am incredibly avid about providing children with an optimal learning environment at all times.  I plan to pursue my Doctorate of Psychology after earning my Bachelors.  I aspire to use my degree to work with juvenile delinquents or work at a private practice serving children and adolescents.  In my free time I enjoy cooking, singing, dancing, doing arts and crafts, exploring the city, and spending time with my friends and family.  I am so excited to begin growing with the Book Worms family and look forward to a fantastic year!

TaylorMarino  Taylor

Hi my name is Taylor Marino. I am from New Jersey and recently moved to Philadelphia. I am an early childhood education major with a concentration in special education and autism studies at Temple University. I am currently a junior working towards my masters in special education and bachelors in early childhood education. I have had a passion working with children ever since I was young. I started in high school as a volunteer working with children with autism and learning disabilities. In college, I joined the AmeriCorps program, Jumpstart, where I was able to work one on one with preschoolers preparing them to be successful in school. I completed two years of Jumpstart and served over 600 hours in the North Philadelphia community. While doing this, I also worked at the local YMCA teaching young children and children with disabilities how to swim. In my free time, I enjoy exercising, being outdoors, exploring Philly and the world, going to concerts, and spending quality time with my cats. I love what I do and I am very excited to join the Book Worms team!
IMG_1520 (1) Moira

My name is Moira Evans. I am from the Northeast Philadelphia area and am currently a senior at Temple University working toward the completion of my Bachelors degree in Early Childhood Education with a concentration in Special Education. I then plan to go on and get my Masters in Special Education hopefully somewhere constantly warm and sunny!  I have always had a passion  when it comes to working with children! I originally entered college as a Jewelry/Metals/CADCAM major in Temples Tyler School of Art with a certification in Art Education. After I spent two months studying in Rome, Italy, I knew I wanted to switch to Early Childhood Education completely. In my free time I love to go to concerts, spend time with family, and travel! I am super excited to be part of the Book Worms Family and can not wait to see what this journey has in store for me!